India Test squad : Rohit Sharma to lead; Ajinkya Rahane, Ishant Sharma among 4 seniors dropped from Test squad for SL series


Rohit Sharma has been named Team India's Test captain.

Rohit Sharma has been named Team India’s Test captain. Photo: BCCI&nbsp

Key Highlights

  • Rohit Sharma has been named Team India’s Test captain

  • He will be assisted by Jasprit Bumrah, who is back to international cricket after being rested for the West Indies series

  • The two Test matches of the series will be played in Mohali and Bengaluru

Rohit Sharma will be leading Team India in the two-match Test series against Sri Lanka, to be played from March 4 to 12. Apart from naming Rohit as the full-time Test captain, the Chetan Sharma-headed selection panel has made some major selection calls and dropped Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ishant Sharma and Wriddhiman Saha from the Test team.

Speaking to the press, Sharma said that the 4 senior players were informed about not being considered for the two Test matches beforehand and that the doors are not shut on them. The former India pacer added that all 4 players were asked to play Ranji Trophy.

Rahane and Pujara are playing the first-class tournament while Ishant will be available for Delhi from the 2nd fixture. Saha isn’t playing Ranji Trophy.

In Saha’s absence, KS Bharat has been named in the Test team. Ravindra Jadeja, who has been out of the national team since the 1st Test against New Zealand, has made his return. 

R Ashwin has been named in the Test squad but will only be available if he is fit. Unfit KL Rahul isn’t part of the team for the series. Left-arm spinner Saurabh Kumar is the new face in the team. Jasprit Bumrah has been named as the vice-captain and will lead the pace attack.

Rohit Sharma’s elevation

Rohit was named as the white-ball captain in 2021 and now holds the top post across all three formats. Rohit was the frontrunner to take up the job after being named Kohli’s deputy for the Test series against South Africa. He missed the complete series due to an injury and missed out on leading the side in the 2nd Test match. He is now Team India’s all-format captain and has a big responsibility on his shoulders going ahead.

The opening Test match of the series will be played from March 4 to 8 in Mohali while Bengaluru will host the 2nd Test match from March 12 to 16.

Squad: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Mayank Agarwal, Priyank Panchal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Shubman Gill, R Pant, KS Bharat, R Ashwin (subject to fitness), Ravindra Jadeja, Jayant Yadav, Kuldeep Yadav, J Bumrah (VC), Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Saurabh Kumar


Source link

Leave A Comment

All fields marked with an asterisk (*) are required